Contact

Doktorandenkonvent der Universität Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 370
69120 Heidelberg

Email:

doktorandenkonvent@uni-heidelberg.de

 
Upcoming Events

Orientation Session

27 October 2021 ~ 4:00 pm

Events

HAI Science Slam

10 November 2021 ~ 6:00 pm

Events

General Assembly

15 November 2021 ~ 6:00 pm

Meetings

 
Newsletter
 news logo 
social media

 FB logo   IG logo   Twitter logo  DS logo 

Information on the Doctoral Convention

What is the Doctoral Convention?

The Doctoral Convention (DC) is the council of Heidelberg University tasked with the representation of doctoral researchers. It functions in an advisory capacity to faculties and other university councils in all matters that relate to the studies of doctoral researchers.

The constitution of the DC is an important first step towards establishing doctoral researchers as their own status group at Heidelberg University, by allowing them for the first time to participate in university politics and in decisions that directly relate to their studies. At Heidelberg University, a centralized DC was established, which unites doctoral researchers of all faculties. Furthermore, the DC is part of the forum of all doctoral students conventions in the state of Baden-Württemberg.

 

⇒ Vocabulary Codex of the Doctoral Convention at Heidelberg University

What are the functions of the Doctoral Convention?

  • The DC is the central forum for and representation of all doctoral researchers at Heidelberg University.
  • The DC represents the interests of doctoral researchers of all fields of study and all types of study. It's primary purpose is the representation of doctoral researchers with respect to their judicial and social standing, their type of study, their mode of financing and adjacent areas. In particular, the DC makes recommendations upon doctoral regulations.
  • The DC respects the freedom of research and scientific cultures that are specific to given fields of research.
  • The DC, being a university-wide council, strives to improve interdisciplinary and international networking between doctoral researchers.
  • The DC sees itself as a mediatory instance between university councils and doctoral researchers. As such, it aspires after a constructive collaboration with both the councils of Heidelberg University as well as the doctoral students conventions of other universities.

What is the structure of the Doctoral Convention?

Organigramm Doktorandenkonvent (eng)

 

Events of the Doctoral Convention

General Assembly

The General Assembly constitutes the democratic foundation of the DC, with all doctoral researchers at Heidelberg University having voting rights there. During the regular General Assembly, which takes place once a year, important topics of the last year are discussed, possible changes to the rules of procedure are decided upon and the new executive committee for the upcoming year is elected. For important reasons, e.g. urgent changes in the rules of procedure, exceptional general assemblies may be convened. [Dates]

Regular Meetings

The regular meetings take place at least once per semester and are open to all doctoral researchers. At the regular meetings, the executive committee as well as the working groups present their work, and latest topics are discussed. Here, all doctoral researchers may present their concerns. [Dates]

Info Events

Whenever there are new developments relevant to all doctoral researchers, the DC invites everyone to a dedicated info event. At this event the background and implications of the changing situation are explained, and the doctoral researchers get the opportunity to ask questions and discuss the topic. [Dates]

Regulars' Table

The regulars' table (Stammtisch) is a social get together, offering doctoral researchers the opportunity to exchange views among each other and with the members of the executive committee. It takes place on the first Wednesday of each month at 8 pm. [Dates]

 

 

 

Responsible: Email
Latest Revision: 2021-05-27
zum Seitenanfang/up

Kontakt

Doktorandenkonvent der Universität Heidelberg
Im Neuenheimer Feld 294
Raum 015 / 016
69120 Heidelberg

E-Mail:

doktorandenkonvent@uni-heidelberg.de

 
Kommende Termine

Der nächste Stammtisch findet am 20.03.2019 um 20:00 Uhr im Cafè Botanik statt.

 

Weitere Termine

 
Newsletter

Anmeldung zu unserem Newsletter (Versand etwa monatlich)

 
Facebook

Informationen über den Doktorandenkonvent

Was ist der Doktorandenkonvent?

Der Doktorandenkonvent ist das universitätsinterne Vertretungsgremium aller Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden. Er hat gegenüber den Fakultäten und den weiteren Universitätsgremien eine beratende und empfehlende Funktion in allen Fragen und Entscheidungsprozessen, welche die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden betreffen.

Mit der Einrichtung des Doktorandenkonvents ist ein wichtiger Schritt dahin getan, Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden an der Universität als eigenständige Statusgruppe anzuerkennen. Der Doktorandenkonvent ermöglicht es ihnen erstmals, ihre Positionen und spezifischen Bedürfnisse in universitäre Entscheidungsprozesse einzubringen. An der Universität Heidelberg wurde der Doktorandenkonvent als zentrales, fakultätsübergreifendes Gremium eingerichtet, das sich sowohl mit fakultätsspezifischen als auch mit gesamtuniversitären Fragen beschäftigt. Außerdem ist er Teil des Forums der Doktorandenkonvente Baden-Württembergs.

Was sind die Aufgaben des Doktorandenkonvents?

  • Der Doktorandenkonvent versteht sich als zentrales Forum und als Vertretung aller Doktoranden der Universität Heidelberg.
  • Er vertritt die Interessen der Doktoranden aller Wissenskulturen und Promotionsarten. Seine Aufgabe ist die Vertretung der Doktoranden innerhalb der Universität Heidelberg in Bezug auf ihre rechtliche und soziale Stellung, ihre jeweilige Promotionsart und ihre Finanzierung sowie angrenzende Themenfelder. Insbesondere spricht er empfehlende Stellungnahmen zu Promotionsordnungen aus.
  • Der Konvent berücksichtigt fachspezifische Wissenschaftskulturen und die Forschungsfreiheit und wahrt diese aktiv.
  • Er fördert als Konvent auf Universitätsebene die interdisziplinäre sowie internationale Vernetzung der Doktoranden und ihren Austausch untereinander.
  • Der Doktorandenkonvent versteht sich als vermittelnde Instanz zwischen den Universitätsgremien und den Doktoranden und strebt eine konstruktive Zusammenarbeit an. Selbiges gilt auch für eine Kooperation mit den Doktorandenvertretungen an anderen Universitäten.

Wie ist der Doktorandenkonvent aufgebaut?

Organigramm Doktorandenkonvent (de)

Veranstaltungen des Doktorandenkonvents

Vollversammlung

Die Vollversammlung bildet die demokratische Grundlage des Doktorandenkonvents, und alle Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Universität sind auf ihr stimmberechtigt. Auf der regulären Vollversammlung, die einmal jährlich stattfindet, werden die wichtigen Themen des vergangenen Jahres diskutiert, über Änderungen an der Geschäftsordnung abgestimmt und der neue Vorstand für das kommende Jahr gewählt. Aus wichtigen Gründen, z.B. für eine dringliche Änderung der Geschäftsordnung, können darüber hinaus außerordentliche Vollversammlungen einberufen werden. [Termine]

Reguläre Sitzungen

Die regulären Sitzungen finden mindestens einmal pro Semester öffentlich für alle Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden statt. Auf den regulären Sitzungen stellen Vorstand und Arbeitsgruppen den Stand ihrer Arbeit vor und es werden aktuelle Themen diskutiert. Hier können alle Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden ihre Anliegen vortragen. [Termine]

Infoveranstaltungen

Wenn immer es neue Entwicklungen gibt, die für alle Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden relevant sind, lädt der Doktorandenkonvent zu einer Infoveranstaltung ein. Dort werden die Hintergründe und Implikationen der jeweiligen Veränderung vorgestellt und die Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden bekommen die Gelegenheit, Fragen zu stellen und das Thema zu diskutieren. [Termine]

Stammtisch

Der Stammtisch bietet eine gemütliche Runde zum Austausch von Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden untereinander und mit den Mitgliedern des Vorstands. Der Stammtisch findet immer am ersten Mittwoch jeden Monats um 20:00 Uhr statt. [Termine]

Verantwortlich: E-Mail
Letzte Änderung: 18.07.2018
zum Seitenanfang/up